top of page

Respect, identity and gratitude


This is personal. I recently had to undergo a small surgery and a number of tests before that. It is something that I have been afraid of in the past and when I was analysing why I was afraid I realised that the key reason is the loss of identity. One moment you are you and the next moment you are a patient. In the country where I come from, unfortunately in most of the cases, the patient is considered unworthy of respect and they are considered totally unable to understand anything so they should follow the orders and make sure they do not annoy the nurses or doctors with questions or requests.

My experience here in the UK has been completely different and I am so grateful to each one of the nurses and physicians that took care of me. I felt like a human being worthy of respect. I felt like a person who is able to grasp the situation, the consequences and to participate in the decision making. I felt that they cared about me, my comfort and how I was doing. I felt that they really wished me well and that they were there to help me and make sure I was ok. This attitude was so amazing and it is so critical about the wellbeing of each one of us when we become patients. The state of mind we are in is such a big determinant on how we heal and respond to treatment and that is why I am so grateful to the people who took care of me as they made everything possible to make me feel well.

I hope that all healthcare professionals are able to provide this level of care and respect so that they can help their patients to keep their individual identity and not feel like patients. This is what makes a big difference and actually does not cost that much.

Thank you, dear team, who took care of me! You treating me as a person meant the world for me.


Recent Posts
bottom of page